ST. ELMOS FIRE "Desperate Years" - Cover, Tracklist, release date: 21th August 2015

News Image

10.07.2015Release News

The release date of the ST. ELMOS FIRE album "Desperate Years" is August 21th, 2015. The pre-order phase will start on August 7th, in our webshop.

In the course of the „Heavy Metal Classics“-series Karthago Records is going to reprint the whole back catalogue of the Californians ST. ELMOS FIRE. As usual limited to 1000 copies and provided with a certificate, the four studio albums will be re-released on CD during August. Formed in 1979 by guitarist Jeff Jones, the melodic US Metal quartet earned a good reputation in the club scene of San Francisco and Los Angeles. After they played shows with superstars like Mötley Crüe, Y&T and Nazareth and recruited Trauma drummer Kris Gustofson, they released their self titled debut back in 1986 through the French label Dream Records.

The fourth and final studio album “Desperate Years” (Release: 21st August) was released in 1992; like its predecessor “Powerdrive” through Black Dragon Records. On this record, the well-known US Metal - even more than on the predecessor - has been replaced by bluesy Hard Rock. But also in this genre ST. ELMOS FIRE were able to survive. Powerful acoustic ballads like “Without You” and “Where Were You” are placed next to cheesy rockers like “Chains Around My Heart” and “Part Of My Life” as well as the eight minute-instrumental “Rivethead Jam”. In songs like “Hot Time” and the Riot influenced “This Time” there still can be heard some decent Heavy Metal influences. On this re-release there are also two bonus tracks: the unreleased “Summertime Girls” as well as the single track “Really In Love” from 1984.

With “Desperate Years” ST. ELMOS FIRE presented a felicitous swansong.

1. Chain Around My Heart
2. On Fire
3. Desperate Years
4. Without You
5. Part Of My Life
6. Hot Time
7. Here And Beyond
8. Where Were You
9. Michelle
10. This Time
11. Rivethead Jam
12. Other Nights To Cry
13. Summertime Girls (Bonustrack)
14. Really in Love (Bonustrack)

Total Playing Time: 65:20 min

Jeff Jones – guitars
Zane Lazar –  vocals
Kris Gustofson – drums
Rusty Aven – bass