ST. ELMOS FIRE "Powerdrive" - Cover, Tracklist, release date: 21th August 2015

News Image

10.07.2015Release News

The release date of the ST. ELMOS FIRE album "Powerdrive" is August 21th, 2015. The pre-order phase will start on August 7th, in our webshop.

In the course of the „Heavy Metal Classics“-series Karthago Records is going to reprint the whole back catalogue of the Californians ST. ELMOS FIRE. As usual limited to 1000 copies and provided with a certificate, the four studio albums will be re-released on CD during August. Formed in 1979 by guitarist Jeff Jones, the melodic US Metal quartet earned a good reputation in the club scene of San Francisco and Los Angeles. After they played shows with superstars like Mötley Crüe, Y&T and Nazareth and recruited Trauma drummer Kris Gustofson, they released their self titled debut back in 1986 through the French label Dream Records.

After their short collaboration with Bellaphon ST. ELMOS FIRE changed the record company again for their third studio album; this time they went to the cult label Black Dragon Records (Candlemass, Manilla Road). Inspired by the Glam/Sleaze trend of the late 80s their style on „Powerdrive“ (Release: 21st August) became more Rock oriented. Experiments with slide- („Wrong Side Of Love“) and acoustic guitars („I Need Your Touch“) and the more bluesy vocals Zane Lazar also fitted well to ST. ELMOS FIRE. Rock driven, pithy riffs are a main factor of most of the songs, but also the typical US Metal sound can be heard in songs like the straight title track, the re-recording of „Into The Night“ or „Street Lethal“. With demo versions of „Inside The Hunter“ and „Breaking Out“ there are two bonus songs on the CD.

A strong album, which combines the spirit of US Metal perfectly with a relaxed Hard Rock attitude!

1. Gonna Get Wild
2. Isolation
3. Wrong Side Of Love
4. City (Behind the Walls)
5. Powerdrive
6. I Need Your Touch
7. Smoking Gun
8. Street Lethal
9. Into The Night (Bonustrack)
10. Breaking Out (Bonustrack)
11. Inside The Hunter (Bonustrack)
12. Breakin Out (1986 Demoversion, Bonustrack)

Total Playing Time: 57:32 min

Jeff Jones – guitars
Zane Lazar –  vocals
Kris Gustofson – drums
Aaron Smith – bass